The Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn

utorak, 5. siječnja 2010.

The Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn was a magical fraternity founded in Great Britain during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, which practiced theurgy and spiritual development. It was the most influential occult group to emerge from the end of the nineteenth century occult revival. The order of the was created by Dr. William R. Woodman, William W. Westcott, and Samuel L. MacGregor Mathers. All three were Freemasons and members of Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia (S.R.I.A.). Their menbers were initiated through a series of degrees (hierarchy of eleven degrees) using Freemasonic techniques applied through Hermetic and occult symbolism and doctrines. Magical practices were reserved only for the Inner Order. The teachings were diverse, and included Ceremonial Magic, Kabbalah, alchemy, Tarot, Enochian Magic, astrology, divination and Egyptian Magic. As a secret society the organization's membership included some of the most distinguished and talented personalities of the times. William Yeats, and Aleister Crowly are two most famous members of the group. The fundamental documents of the order are known as the Cipher Documents. The basic structure of many rituals of the order appear to originate with Rosicrucianism.

1 komentari:



Objavi komentar